Mirsoft.info - World of Game Music and Games
Mirsoft.info - World of Game Music

» Game music base
» General info
» Game Music Reviews
» Musicians list
» Game music formats
» Music records list
» Games list
» Platforms list
» Manual
» Back Home

You are currently not logged in
Log In / Register

Online Since 1999.
Last updated: 13.March, 2016.
Made in Slovakia.
Contact info
Slovak version

Reviews from users    My reviews   

Game music reviews from users

Top reviewers
1. Dr. Spa (265 reviews)
2. Warcow (249 reviews)
3. Tepe (127 reviews)
4. Darth Nefelim (88 reviews)
5. aLoner (51 reviews)
6. Anorak99 (42 reviews)
7. deepblue (40 reviews)
8. Neo (36 reviews)
9. sds (36 reviews)
10. Pyramid Head (35 reviews)

Add your review

Showing reviews 101-120 from 2936:


Final Doom, TNT: Game rip
"Yes, without doubt, a very good add one / an alternative to Bobby Prince Socres" (by Verbatim, 14 Oct 2012) [8/10]
And yes -> the Titel "The Darkness" is a clear case of my favorites and a very intensiv drabber / gloomy style of music / song, it fits in general perfect in the World of Doom !

I love all the gloomy tracks in connection to the demonic / demonish World of Doom

for example "D_shwan3.mid" its a true gloomy track also

some tracks of this OST from Team TNT are unkinder a little bit but It doesn't matter

for that reason i can't awarded the full rating


Blood: Fan soundtrack
"Blood: Fan Soundtrack" (by Veracocha, 11 Oct 2012) [5/10]
um..download link is not working?


Die Hoehlenwelt Saga: Game rip
"Yes, a lovely German Adventure, the music its very brilliant" (by Verbatim, 10 Oct 2012) [9/10]
But I'm afraid that none can tell from this game, if not he is a german

to show you how sounds one of this track over the Motif XF (Yamaha Workstation-Keyboard) i will show you this example Song Track06:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/62653611/Track6_Motif.mp3

This Track 6 shows very impressive how good this drum tracks are sequenced, very good humanised, of course, the song is not professionally mixed by EQ, compressors, but the midifile its very well sequenced.

for comparison you must download this soundtrack and play with your midi device (6.mid) with a fingered bass
In future i will mix thousand midi Game soundtracks via authentic midi devices, how like, Sw1000XG, Motif XF and some professionally VST Instruments in Cubase

Attention!

in the download package you will find FM Versions which sounds wrong, the numbers 1 until 11 are the GM Midi Files, i recommend for Track 6 to choose a Fretless Bass ;)

for questions of midi programming you can contact me every time

Greets
Matthias


Lemmings 3D: Game rip
"Yes, the good old unknown *.snd File Format ;)" (by Verbatim, 6 Oct 2012) [9/10]
what i have tried to find for that format a player for playing outthere the game ;)

The FM Version of this soundtrack its still worth hearing, it has very well used FM Timbre

But please with real OPL FM Chip or the good old ESS FM Chip only ;)

Matthias


Blair Witch Volume 1: Rustin Parr: Fan soundtrack
"Superb! Infinite thanks, dude." (by Scott, 6 Oct 2012) [10/10]
I love all three of the Blair Witch games. They're considered utter classics of mine as a retro gamer & I gotta say, the music in all three of them (Volume I in particular)is absolutely fantastic! I thank you very, very much for uploading the OST.


Starfox (Nintendo): Arranged/Remixed tunes
"Awesome stuff" (by MabsKMK, 3 Oct 2012) [10/10]
Congratulations! that soudtracks are amazing like in the real game.


4D Sports Boxing: Arranged/Remixed tunes
"A Great Childhood Tune, Stuck in my Head" (by GDI Lord, 23 Sep 2012) [10/10]
I grew up playing 4D Sports Boxing and it's music is some of the best of all the games I've played. Since a child the intro music and the gym music have popped in and out of my head - they just flow into one another.

The music suits the game and sets the stage for some great boxing.

I really enjoyed the music, well done to the composers.

Quick update on the composers:
Kris Hatlelid
-------------
http://vgmpf.com/Wiki/index.php?title=Kris_Hatlelid
Currently works for Microsoft. Filed for patents US7788496 in 2011 and US8103592 in 2012 - http://books.google.com.pa/patents/US20050222960

Mike Sokyrka
------------
http://www.vgmpf.com/Wiki/index.php?title=Mike_Sokyrka
Featured in a cheat code for "Triple Play '98" for Playstation 1 - http://www.cheatnewspaper.com/cheat18326.html

Brian Plank
-----------
http://www.vgmpf.com/Wiki/index.php?title=Brian_Plank


Descent: Game rip
"The music of a Material Defender!" (by honkstar82, 17 Sep 2012) [9/10]
Three hundred and sixty degrees of freedom. That's what Interplay promised, and boy did they deliver. Listen to these tunes with your headphones on and you can hear how the drums move from side to side on the menu theme, or the swirl of gas around your head in the fifth level's music. Descent has a rocking space-techno soundtrack that really gets your mind in the mood for entombed combat against corrupted robots, but it's awesome to listen to all on its own. When you're in-game you won't notice all the little nuances that a good soundfont will bring out of these tunes, and I still get chills whenever I hear the opening bars of Descent's 'Briefing' music. It's a little like 'Grabbag' for the DN3D crowd, one of those pieces of music that defines your memory of a game by letting you know that soon you'll be knee-deep in the dead.

This archive is of great quality and organized well. Unfortunately none of the levels have their actual names listed, even in the MIDI data, just a number. This is unfortunate, since not every level in the game has its own unique music. Some levels share music, and when you are paging through your media list trying to find "that one song", it's much easier to remember 'Venus Nickel-Iron Mine' than 'Level05'. It would be great if the ripper had at least included the name of the first level to feature these tunes in the filename as well as the level number, but oh well. If you're the obsessive type, try looking up the songnames on Planet Descent. This is a great pack of songs from an amazing game, and still holds up well against modern music. Oh, excuse me, kicks the tar out of modern game music.


Wing Commander 3: Game rip
"Great music, bad archive" (by honkstar82, 17 Sep 2012) [5/10]
Wing Commander III continues WCII's tradition of excellent interstellar orchestra music with a solid military feel. This is a great collection of tunes in MIDI format, but unfortunately this archive is heavily flawed. Many songs, from the haunting "Behemoth" track that plays when you fly past the massive planet-killing starship to the more mundane 'feel-good' light jazz of several of the five bar tunes that play if you step into the TCS Victory's living area, are absent. The music for flying in a heavily damaged ship is also missing, along with the music for dogfighting and defeating the Klirathi crown prince.

There is a lot of excellent music here. The game's orchestral introduction as well as both ending tunes are here, one for the Earth ending and one for Kilrah, along with shorts like 'Ejecting!' or 'Exploding!'. The whole of the archive sounds great, the audio part of this game's multi-million dollar budget was well spent, and it really makes you feel like you are fighting at the turning point of an interstellar war. However there are some problems even with the songs that are present. The names of most of the songs are only found in the MIDI data, not in the filename. Most songs have 'wc3-5' or 'wc3-a' as their titles. I cannot in good conscience give a high rating to this archive due to its flaws and absent tracks, but I do highly recommend its music to any interested listener. If you've never heard Wing Commander III's soundtrack before, this is a wonderful taste. If you are looking for a complete archive of the old game you love, this ain't it.


Wing Commander 2: Game rip
"Vengence of the Kilrathi!" (by honkstar82, 14 Sep 2012) [10/10]
Ah, WCII. Blasting furballs is always more fun with an epic soundtrack, and Origin studios did not let us down. This music is designed for a space symphony, and gives you a great sense of being a major player in a cosmic war even if you're just plodding down the street with your earbuds. This is the music that gave humanity our edge over the Kilrathi Empire, with great synthetics and piano work blending atop military-style drums. I recommend listening to this with the old Roland soundfont if you can manage it to get the authentic experience, or a better modern day soundfont that really gives you a sense of the work put into this music. It's highly recommended if you love having an orchestra tell you how awesome you are, or just want to treat your ears.

Enough gushing. One big problem with the archive is that none of the songs are named. They all have numbers, such as 'wc2-02'. This isn't really a problem for the casual listener, but if you're one of those folks who likes to hear a certain tune whenever it pops into your head you will be searching through fifty-two different tracks. This is really a bummer, because the original game had different names for its songs, from 'Scrambling' to 'Ejecting!' or 'Observation Deck'. WCII actually adjusted the music depending on how you were doing, so each song had a name and a condition it was played under. Again, the music is wonderfully ripped and I tip my hat to Mirsoft as I recommend you check these songs out, and I cannot know how difficult it was to extract these from the game's core files. Many songs also have their titles embedded in the MIDI data, but it would have been a great boon if they had been so labeled in the filenames.

Bottom line, this is a great archive of awesome songs. If you remember the glory days with a flightstick in hand and the glow of a monitor reflecting off your sleep-deprived eyes, you'll get flashbacks. If you've never chalked up a furball and don't understand half of what I just wrote, you'll still love this music!


Raptor: Game rip
"Rock of the Shadows!" (by honkstar82, 14 Sep 2012) [10/10]
Fantastic blast from the past. Apogee always rocked great music in their games. Raptor's 'Hanger' soundtrack has always been a great theme to have in your head while waiting at an airport for a flight, and the level music does not dissapoint. Highly reccomend that you check this out if chiptune rock is at all an interest, the in-mission music does not disappoint.

There are a few little problems with the archive. The song labeled 'Level04' is actually the "Game Over" music. 'Short4' is actually the game's "Credits" tune. Again, a great pack of songs from a great game!


Dark Vengeance: Game rip
"This is revengence." (by honkstar82, 14 Sep 2012) [7/10]
Great package of songs, even if you've never played the game. Several are a mix of dark environmental music with heavy emphasis on resonant noises that sound fantastic in headphones. Others, such as "Mortal Kosmic" have a nice technometal base with grim undertones. These tunes would be right at home in the back alleyway of a run-down club, and I reccomend you check 'em out if you're into game music that gets grimdark without slathering on eyeliner and sparkles. Archive is well named, with only a few of the more ambient tracks lacking a proper title.


DemonStar: Game rip
"Demons, why is it always demons?" (by honkstar82, 13 Sep 2012) [9/10]
A great set of techno-metallic environmental tracks, Bobby Prince did a great job on this set. These tracks are great to listen to even if you've never beaten the original, like me. Wish the rip included the names of all the songs, as it stands there are names for most in the MIDI data. Highly reccomend if you're into a space-techy sort of metal tune, much like his other work in DooM and Blake Stone.


Demonstar: SM1: Game rip
"Great compliment to DemonStar classic's tunes." (by honkstar82, 12 Sep 2012) [8/10]
This rip is a dandy addition to the regular DemonStar's tracklist, and carries the spirit well. Big thanks to the Archiver for including the song names in the filenames, it's always a peeve of mine to just have "Gamename 01" or something as a song's title. Highly reccomend for any fan of the original, or just someone looking for good environmental synthetic groove.

DemonStar's music isn't as rapid-fire as Tyrian 2000's, for instance, but it does a great job of conveying an epic-scale space fight against massive odds. Good for more down-to-earth listening too.


Duke Nukem 3D: Game rip
"One of the best game soundtracks from the '90s" (by iLikeTheUDK, 17 Jul 2012) [7/10]
It does sound a bit bad in a few places, mainly Episode 3, but otherwise a great soundtrack
I still wish it had the extended version of Grabbag which was rendered to a VOC file by Lee Jackson (it has a solo in it and does not loop).


Unreal (Epic Megagames): Game rip
"Awesome" (by ZEUS_GB, 15 Jul 2012) [10/10]
The music in Unreal is awesome and some of the best mods ive heard in a comerical game for a while now.


Might & Magic 5: Darkside of Xeen: Game rip
"Absolutely excellent" (by PurpleXVI, 5 Jun 2012) [9/10]
A few tracks sound different from what I remember them, but then again, I only ever played one version of this game, and it's had multiple. Include Mac versions, fully-voiced versions, CD versions and floppy versions.

So glad I got my hands on Corak's theme again, though, damn I love that thing.


First Samurai: Game rip
"One of the best tunes" (by purepwnage, 19 May 2012) [10/10]
One of the best tunes of any game. Excelent work. Kudos.


Larry 6: Game rip
"Not only Larry 6 the other Versions also" (by Verbatim, 8 Apr 2012) [10/10]
Many nice jazzy, funky Songs can you find in Mike Dana's, Craig Safan'S, Chris Brayman's and Al Lowe's perfect moody productions

Its a must for every Gamesoundtrack Midifan :)

All this Songs i will record with the Workstation Motif XF by Yamaha and Mix in Cubase


Doom 2: Game rip
"One of the best gaming soundtracks ever!" (by GoldenEagle1476, 31 Jan 2012) [10/10]
Definitely one of the best gaming soundtracks I've ever heard, it completely sums up what Doom is about and sets the pace for the whole game. It's equal parts creepy and relaxing, and it and the game both hold up today.

Page 6/147
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | >>> |