Mirsoft.info - World of Game Music and Games
Mirsoft.info - World of Game Music

» Game music base
» General info
» Game Music Reviews
» Musicians list
» Game music formats
» Music records list
» Games list
» Platforms list
» Manual
» Back Home

You are currently not logged in
Log In / Register

Online Since 1999.
Last updated: 7.May, 2017.
Made in Slovakia.
Contact info
Slovak version

Reviews from users    My reviews   

Game music reviews from users

Top reviewers
1. Dr. Spa (265 reviews)
2. Warcow (249 reviews)
3. Tepe (127 reviews)
4. Darth Nefelim (88 reviews)
5. aLoner (51 reviews)
6. Anorak99 (42 reviews)
7. deepblue (40 reviews)
8. Neo (36 reviews)
9. sds (36 reviews)
10. Pyramid Head (35 reviews)

Add your review

Showing reviews 101-120 from 2949:


Take no Prisoners: Game rip
"not bad, but not good enough" (by Controller, 23 Dec 2012) [7/10]
1) 19 of 20 tracks only
2) No usefull filenames (watto extractor extracts with proper filenames)
3) No compatible midi. Actually same as the extracted mds files, but only playing in Winamp if changing extension to .rmi. Kind of riff / MIDSfmt format.


Syndicate: Game rip
"Minigun Selected." (by honkstar82, 15 Dec 2012) [4/10]
That Introduction. The music really sticks in the mind after you've seen a guy get run over, abducted, and then converted into a cybernetic soldier. The game music is very fitting of a tactics game, but one could wish for a little more techno-energy when listening to it on its own. This little pack only has two songs. I recommend smacking it together with it's sequel, Syndicate Wars, in your playlists. Both have cyberpunk grimdark feel to them, and compliment each other well.


Gearheads: Game rip
"Grind your gears!" (by honkstar82, 15 Dec 2012) [4/10]
This is a great soundtrack for madcap mayhem, but it gets a little repetitive after a while. Most of the songs have a similar background, an active drumline that reminds you of a ticking clock or gearworks, but they all have their own unique twists on the formula. It's a cool little pack for the game, but it doesn't have a whole lot of independent listening value. Give it a go on a good soundfont and see what you get, it's MIDI after all.


Apano Sin: Game rip
"Sinless, but not Splendid" (by honkstar82, 15 Dec 2012) [5/10]
Apano Sin's soundtrack is brief, unassuming, but still good. The game seems to have more tracks than are listed here, but very little information remains about it either. As this archive stands, it has a nice little jolt of background space-techno that would serve well as spacers for a larger playlist. These are not exceptional, nor are they wretched, they merely are.

If the archive was larger, it could be called a good "safe listen". As it stands, these are average.


Iron Seed: Game rip
"Echoes of Iron" (by honkstar82, 15 Dec 2012) [7/10]
Iron Seed has a great tracklist of techno/space rock tunes that really get your brain thinking of the stars. There are several standout tunes, Intro 1, 2 and the Colonization music are really good. What caught my eye is that these tracks are by Andrew Sega, AKA Necros. He composed a major chunk of the soundtrack for Crusader: No Remorse, and the ear-etching song from the first level of that awesome game "Dimension 2021" is actually in this game as well!

These tunes are not as well developed as Crusader's soundtrack, clearly showing Necros at a developmental stage of his music, but are still great space-techno chiptunes that ring in the ears. Give 'em a shot and you won't be disappointed.


Terminator: SkyNet: Game rip
"great varios terminator & epic themes in this Soundtrack" (by Verbatim, 21 Nov 2012) [9/10]
One of the last great midi sequenced arrangements of the DOS time

Great sequencing and composing Work by Andy Warr :)


Deus Ex: Game rip
"MOD goes out with a bang" (by honkstar82, 14 Nov 2012) [9/10]
As someone who has not yet played Deus Ex, or the reboot Human Revolution, I have to say I am greatly inspired to by this music! Lots of good cyberpunk and techno music that shows off considerable talent from the designers. This pack is huge, after ripping it to MP3 with XMPlayer I had 130 songs. Each song is named and numbered, so the pack is well-formed and will fit great on your playlists. Highly recommended to anyone seeking some dark cyberpunk music or melodic techno.


Terminator: SkyNet: Game rip
"Trust the Machine" (by honkstar82, 13 Nov 2012) [7/10]
Military-industrial futuristic rock. Solid drumwork underneath, good effects and solid guitars. Never played the original game, but these would fit in fine with a first person shooter. These songs do not surprise, just solid music all around that stands up pretty well even without the opportunity to blast robots. One big annoyance is that the songs are not named, just labeled, such as "T204", "T100" or "TEST". Aside from that, the archive is great.


ShadowWraith: Game rip
"Revenge is Best Served on the Net" (by honkstar82, 13 Nov 2012) [9/10]
Cyberpunk infopulses from some great artists. Never played the game, but this music is extremely good. From Marshins to Stardust Memories, the archive has a lot of awesome machine-synth rock tunes with heavy techno undertones. It's pretty easy to close your eyes while listening and feel yourself in a futeristic nightclub. The entire package is sold, there are no stinker tunes in my opinion. Highly recommended, this is a great example of why old game music rocks!


Tyrian 2000: Game rip
"Beware Microsol!" (by honkstar82, 13 Nov 2012) [8/10]
Tyrian is all about big guns, bigger ships, and amazing music. This package, along with the original Tyrian archive available elsewhere on Mirsoft, is full of high-power tunes. Lots of energetic synths and chiptune guitars, along with plenty of whooming space effects, comprise these tracks. The MIDI rips are solid, try XMPlayer if you have trouble with them.


Tux Racer: Game rip
"Almost sounds like On The Beach Tonight by Crusing Gang" (by Syntaxfel, 6 Nov 2012) [9/10]
I like computer music that slightly reminds me of commercial music available on the records.


Final Fantasy 7 Original Soundtrack (MIDI)
"awesome music" (by djmatthias, 29 Oct 2012) [8/10]
Favorite tracks being anxious hearts, shinra corporation, sandy badlands and cosmo canyon/ great warrior. They sound VERY awesome in Logic if you substitue the GM instruments for the exs24 and sculpture versions. Almost like a movie soundtrack.


Descent: Game rip
"Destination Saturn" (by Warcow, 24 Oct 2012) [8/10]
When I first played this game at a friends home back in '95, it was unlike any other gameplay I had tried before and I thought the music was cool and fitted really good with it. When listening to the soundtrack today I feel the same vibe and it still works.
And I agree with honkstar82 that the songs here is better than most music to any new game today, it sure was another quality then. My favourite tune would be Game18.


Final Doom, TNT: Game rip
"Yes, without doubt, a very good add one / an alternative to Bobby Prince Socres" (by Verbatim, 14 Oct 2012) [8/10]
And yes -> the Titel "The Darkness" is a clear case of my favorites and a very intensiv drabber / gloomy style of music / song, it fits in general perfect in the World of Doom !

I love all the gloomy tracks in connection to the demonic / demonish World of Doom

for example "D_shwan3.mid" its a true gloomy track also

some tracks of this OST from Team TNT are unkinder a little bit but It doesn't matter

for that reason i can't awarded the full rating


Blood: Fan soundtrack
"Blood: Fan Soundtrack" (by Veracocha, 11 Oct 2012) [5/10]
um..download link is not working?


Die Hoehlenwelt Saga: Game rip
"Yes, a lovely German Adventure, the music its very brilliant" (by Verbatim, 10 Oct 2012) [9/10]
But I'm afraid that none can tell from this game, if not he is a german

to show you how sounds one of this track over the Motif XF (Yamaha Workstation-Keyboard) i will show you this example Song Track06:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/62653611/Track6_Motif.mp3

This Track 6 shows very impressive how good this drum tracks are sequenced, very good humanised, of course, the song is not professionally mixed by EQ, compressors, but the midifile its very well sequenced.

for comparison you must download this soundtrack and play with your midi device (6.mid) with a fingered bass
In future i will mix thousand midi Game soundtracks via authentic midi devices, how like, Sw1000XG, Motif XF and some professionally VST Instruments in Cubase

Attention!

in the download package you will find FM Versions which sounds wrong, the numbers 1 until 11 are the GM Midi Files, i recommend for Track 6 to choose a Fretless Bass ;)

for questions of midi programming you can contact me every time

Greets
Matthias


Lemmings 3D: Game rip
"Yes, the good old unknown *.snd File Format ;)" (by Verbatim, 6 Oct 2012) [9/10]
what i have tried to find for that format a player for playing outthere the game ;)

The FM Version of this soundtrack its still worth hearing, it has very well used FM Timbre

But please with real OPL FM Chip or the good old ESS FM Chip only ;)

Matthias


Blair Witch Volume 1: Rustin Parr: Fan soundtrack
"Superb! Infinite thanks, dude." (by Scott, 6 Oct 2012) [10/10]
I love all three of the Blair Witch games. They're considered utter classics of mine as a retro gamer & I gotta say, the music in all three of them (Volume I in particular)is absolutely fantastic! I thank you very, very much for uploading the OST.


Starfox (Nintendo): Arranged/Remixed tunes
"Awesome stuff" (by MabsKMK, 4 Oct 2012) [10/10]
Congratulations! that soudtracks are amazing like in the real game.


4D Sports Boxing: Arranged/Remixed tunes
"A Great Childhood Tune, Stuck in my Head" (by GDI Lord, 24 Sep 2012) [10/10]
I grew up playing 4D Sports Boxing and it's music is some of the best of all the games I've played. Since a child the intro music and the gym music have popped in and out of my head - they just flow into one another.

The music suits the game and sets the stage for some great boxing.

I really enjoyed the music, well done to the composers.

Quick update on the composers:
Kris Hatlelid
-------------
http://vgmpf.com/Wiki/index.php?title=Kris_Hatlelid
Currently works for Microsoft. Filed for patents US7788496 in 2011 and US8103592 in 2012 - http://books.google.com.pa/patents/US20050222960

Mike Sokyrka
------------
http://www.vgmpf.com/Wiki/index.php?title=Mike_Sokyrka
Featured in a cheat code for "Triple Play '98" for Playstation 1 - http://www.cheatnewspaper.com/cheat18326.html

Brian Plank
-----------
http://www.vgmpf.com/Wiki/index.php?title=Brian_Plank

Page 6/148
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | >>> |